The 80s Will Always Be Relevant.

My month long holiday just began and for me that means that I get to look forward to uninterrupted days spent in bed watching movies, downloading music, blogging (obviously), and occasionally going out and getting drunk. First on the agenda… MOVIE WATCHING! The holidays are the perfect time to re-watch old movies that you’ve already seen a hundred times, and when trying to decide which of my favourites I would start with, I realised that all these amazing movies have one thing in common: amazing soundtracks. Furthermore all the best songs used in these movies were made in the 80s (i.e. the greatest musical era of all time) and I’ve managed to find a few clips to prove it.

First up is The Rules of Attraction. The cult classic was based on the novel by Bret Easton Ellis (who also wrote American Psycho) and follows the lives of 3 college students played by Shannyn Sossaman (A Knight’s Tale), James Van Der Beek (Dawson’s Creek), and Ian Somerhalder (Vampire Diaries). The opening scene features The Cure’s “Six Different Ways”.

Later on, Ian Somerhalder dances (in his underwear) to “Faith” by George Michael.

Is there anyone who wasn’t at one stage or another, totally obsessed with Donnie Darko? The soundtrack to this movie is particularly enjoyable, but my favourite scene would have to be the one where Donnie (Jake Gyllenhall) arrives at school to “Head Over Heels” by Tears for Fears.

Closer is the movie that cemented my undying love for Natalie Portman. Anyone who has seen it will always remember the scene in the stripclub when she wore that pink wig (<3) while tormenting and stripping for Clive Owen. “How Soon is Now” by The Smiths was playing in the background, which you can hear in this (brief) snippet.

Marie Antionette is a masterpiece in my opinion. Sofia Coppola did another amazing job at making an entire movie with almost no dialogue, relying instead on beautiful imagery, complimented by a perfect soundtrack. One of the standout tracks was “Hong Kong Garden” by Siouxsie and the Banshees which was used in the scene when they arrived at the masked ball.

Last on my list is 500 Days of Summer. Joseph Gordon-Levitt dancing to “You Make My Dreams” by Hall & Oates could instantly put anyone in a better mood.

There are probably countless more examples that I could think of but I’m gonna stop here for now because I think I’ve proved my point – 80s music will always be relevant, especially in movies.

